Morning Adventure

Looking at my history I average about 1 post a month, so maybe if I do it earlier in the month I’ll manage to get more than one in. The walking has been going well (at least when I’m the one that takes him). Shaun has been great about taking him not only on the days I work, but he’ll take him the day after I work a lot of the time which is really nice. Although I’m hoping to get to the point where I don’t want him to because I want the walking time. I do enjoy it once I get there and get going. Especially now that the weather is so nice!

Although, today was a little scary. As I was walking my usual route along the sidewalk outside the church I noticed that one of the doors on the back side of the church was propped open. I debated about what to do for a lap or so, then decided to go take a closer look. It was propped open with a box and the light was on in the little room. It was a room I never even knew existed and it led to some stairs (had no clue we had stairs in the church). I heard a noise so I got freaked out and quickly headed back to the sidewalk. I was going to go in the church to tell someone immediately, but then decided maybe it would be best to wait till after Seminary because I didn’t want to disrupt the class and I also felt like the fewer people that knew the better. So I continued my walk but now instead of thinking productive or spiritual thoughts I played out different scenarios in my head, like what would happen if someone came out of the door while I was walking. When it got to be close to time for the kids to be done I headed in and waited on the teacher to be available so I could tell her. So then we decided to go check it out. We went and closed the door and then headed upstairs to peek and see if anyone was hiding out up there. Thankfully we didn’t see anyone or even any signs of someone up there because I’m not sure what we would’ve done had there been someone! So, that was my little adventure for the day!

As far as how Seminary is going for Dylan, I think it’s going great! I’m honestly so proud of him. He never complains about getting up before 5am, he’s been doing really well with reading his scriptures at least every night that he’s at home, and he says he enjoys it. I was feeling a little guilty at first for making him get up so early and go to it. But now I feel like he really likes it and I think it helps his day go better. He’s definitely a lot more dedicated than I was at that age, and probably more so than the average Freshman in high school, at least around here where we don’t have a large population of LDS. Although our youth is growing. We almost have enough active young men to have only them blessing and passing the sacrament, which is really cool to see.

I received a new calling at church. It’s as a Relief Society Instructor. I believe I’ll be teaching on the 4th Sunday usually. Which will be good for me, but I am nervous about it. I taught last month as a favor and then they decided to call me to the position. Should’ve seen that one coming! But I actually enjoyed preparing the lesson. Teaching it not so much mostly because I hate speaking in front of people and get super nervous. But hopefully that will improve the more I do it. It was definitely a different experience from teaching Primary children! I didn’t get through my lesson because of all the discussion that went on. The good news is, they just want me to finish my lesson this month, so don’t have to do much preparation. Although I do plan on doing some in case it’s too short this time so I’ll have something to add at the end if needed.

Well, I’d better get moving if I don’t want to fall asleep. The goal is to stay awake all day so hopefully I can sleep well tonight since I work tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

