Laundry Room

Well, I didn’t quite get everything done in the laundry room I had originally hoped, but I feel it is much better than it was when I started and it is much more user friendly now. Organizing Junkie posted some questions to be answered so here’s my responses to them.

1. What space did you decide to organize and why?

I chose my laundry room because it was a room that I used as my catch all and it was driving me crazy every time I went in there, and being a family of 5 it’s quite often! I also felt like since it is a small room it was a good choice for my first major organizing project of the year.

2.  What steps did you take to ensure you completed the space within the 29 day timeline?

I made a simple plan, and I focused on small areas each day that I worked on it. I actually had everything done that I ended up doing in the first couple weeks, which felt great!

3.  What was the hardest part of the challenge for you and how did you overcome it?

The hardest part for me was finding uninterrupted time to complete the tasks I wanted done. With a toddler I had to plan it around her nap times, but that’s also time I spend doing other chores and the only quiet time I get to myself throughout the day so I had to make an effort to put that time to use in the laundry room rather than doing other things (like taking a nap).

4. What did you do with the “stuff” you were able to purge out of your newly organized space?

Everything that I took out of the room either went in the trash, found a new home that it fits better in, or out to our storage shed to await a yard sale I plan on having this spring.

5.  Tell me one of your proudest moments during this challenge?

Being able to tell family members exactly where to look to find an item they needed.

6.  Explain any organizing “tools” you used to help you create additional space and to establish some limits and boundaries?

I bought some cheap baskets which helped organize my shelves. Also used baby wipe boxes (the ones that hold multiple refills) to store items. I have all of my cleaning items (like brooms and mops) hanging up on the wall.

7.  What is ONE piece of advice you’d give to someone else to encourage them on their organizational journey?

Take it in small steps. If you try to do the whole thing at one time you’re bound to get tired, frustrated and possibly give up. Smaller periods of time make it much less overwhelming.

 

And now for the pics!

Before:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And after:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     For me this was quite an improvement. I’m glad I took the challenge and am enjoying being able to find the items I need and also being able to walk to my washer and dryer without worrying about tripping over anything. I think my next project will either be the kitchen cabinets or else the upstairs linen closet and bathroom. Both need some reorganizing badly! Will update with progress as I work on them.

2 thoughts on “Laundry Room

  1. Pingback: Organizing Encouragement For The Discouraged : I'm an Organizing Junkie

Leave a Reply

