Back in Action

So, I kind of disappeared for a bit there, actually just didn’t feel like spending the time I had on the computer on writing, was too busy looking at ideas for organizing and for Activity Days. Plus, not a whole lot of new stuff going on in these parts. Although at work I have been having some new experiences. I work as a labor and delivery nurse at our local hospital, and as of this month I’ve been doing it for a year. Actually, I think it’s as of this coming week. Hard to believe it’s been a year already! For most of that year, I focused mainly on learning labor and delivery and tried to avoid the whole baby thing. Not that I don’t want to take care of babies, but sick ones or ones that don’t come out crying scare me to pieces at this point! So, the past month or so I’ve been seeking out more opportunities to take care of the babies instead of the laboring moms. I’m feeling a little better about it, but at the same time am very relieved to know that there should always be someone around if I need help. I know that if any of us have a problem any of the other nurses on the floor come running if needed, and that’s a good feeling to have on a unit. Granted, there are nurses that I prefer working with over some of the others, but I think that’s going to happen anywhere. But at the end of the day, each of them that I’ve worked with has been helpful when I’ve asked for it. Everyone says it takes at least a year to feel comfortable working in this specialty. I’m not even sure I’m at a point of really being comfortable yet, but I can at least get some sleep the night before I work now rather than toss and turn all night stressing about what the day will be like, so that’s headed in the right direction I think. And honestly, at this point I can’t imagine doing anything else. I really don’t think seeing a baby being brought into this world is something that could ever get old. For one thing, no two deliveries are the same. Plus, each one is a miracle in my opinion. The whole process amazes me and makes me wonder how anyone can question that there’s a God. For me it is one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen and I’m glad that I get to see it as often as I do.

Hmm, well, that train of thought kind of took off on its own…on to other topics now. I have hardly touched the laundry room in regards to organizing it since that first week. I did move a few items from one of my kitchen cabinets to the shelves in the laundry room and had the kids take the things that needed to go out to the storage shed out there. (This spring going through that thing will be quite the chore I’m sure since I haven’t even looked in there since the day we moved in!) Anyway, now I have a little more room in the kitchen for food storage since I don’t have a pantry, which has helped a lot. I was thinking about buying a pantry cabinet with our tax money, but may not need to now, so yay, can spend it on something more fun maybe!

We’re all back to feeling better around here, which is good. Was pretty miserable when I was sick along with little Nat. She has been growing and developing like crazy lately. Seems like she learns a new word everyday! It’s exciting, I really don’t remember much about the older kids when they were this age, other than my son was a wild man and I’m not sure how I survived his toddler years! We video chatted with the in-laws tonight and it was fun having them see her since it had been awhile. I’m sure she’s changed dramatically since the last time we had done that and even more so since we went out there for a visit in August. They’re talking about possibly coming to visit this summer which would be so great. I really hope that they’re able to and that Shaun is able to get the time off.

Well, I’ve finally decided that the time has come for me to get serious about my health and make some real changes. It all starts tomorrow. I ordered Jillian Michaels’ Body Revolution and it came in on Saturday. I thought about starting it then, was actually changed getting ready to weigh myself and take my measurements when my parents called wanting to stop by so I quickly changed back and decided to put off starting it till Monday (tomorrow, gulp). I think that was better because I gave myself permission to eat what I wanted and drink soda and not feel guilty. So, the soda is gone and I’m not going to buy any more. I plan on starting to count calories tomorrow, do my initial weight (went ahead and took my measurements today, and man that was not a fun thing to do, but hopefully will be worth it at the end when I see how far I’ve come), and do the first workout. I looked at the meal plan she included in her system, but honestly I don’t think it is something that I’ll do. I might try some of the recipes, but most of them are things that I wouldn’t touch and I know my kids wouldn’t either. So, my plan is to try to cook more at home and hopefully choose healthy items to cook. I made out my own meal plan for this week, including breakfast, lunch, snack and dinner for each day. Well, except for lunches on days I work, trying to decide if I want to take my lunch, or just eat at the cafeteria. Each day they have a healthy option with the nutritional info listed so I could just go with that, or if it’s something that I won’t eat just eat a salad or something. If I take my lunch then it will just be a microwave meal and those tend to leave me hungry and so then I graze all afternoon. My plan is to stay below 1200 calories a day. That’s what her meal plan seemed to do, have each day be around 1200 so I figure I’ll follow that. I’ll post my menu tomorrow, might even put the calories that I’ve figured with it, at least for the meals I’ve figured out. It’s a bit time consuming, but I think I’ll have more success doing it this way rather than just tracking at the end of the day and discovering that something cost a lot more calories than I thought and then going way over my limit. I’m really hopeful that this will give me the push and motivation to really make some life long changes in my lifestyle. I need to be more active and fit and healthy so that I can be around for my family for a very long time. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

